Welcome to the West Harris County (TX) Branch of the American Association of University Women


Thompsen-Baker-Telfer Scholarship Application 2023
deadline is April 14, 2023, at 11:59 pm

AAUW West Harris County Branch – February Meeting
Saturday, March 18, 2023  at 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Tracy Gee Community Center and Zoom
3599 Westcenter Drive
Dr. Annie Benifield, President, League of Women Voters – Houston.

The League of Women Voters of Houston fosters a thriving democracy by engaging all people in the political process through nonpartisan information sharing, passionate civic engagement and by providing opportunities to participate in the democratic process.

The LWV believes in the power of every person to create a more perfect democracy and supports the desire, the right, the knowledge, and the confidence for all to participate.

Dr. Annie Johnson Benifield, President, League of Women Voters-Houston. Experience: Retired Chair & Professor of Social Sciences Department, Lone Star College-Tomball. Awards: Rho Beta Beta Chapter of Omega Psi Phi 2020 Citizen of the Year; 2020 AAMU William Hooper Council Service Award; Lone Star College-Tomball 2019 Faculty Excellence Award, Greater Tomball Area Chamber of Commerce Teacher of the Month, November 2021; 2021 Advanced Equity HOWL Award, Lone Star College-Tomball, U. Chapter Expertise: Work with LWV-H on voter registration projects (Naturalization Ceremonies) for 20 plus years. Secretary, LWV-H 2015-2017. LWV-H Board Member 2012-2019. League of Women Voters- Houston; The Helen Hunter Award, June 2019 for advancing the mission of the LWV-H by bringing great credit to the League and benefit to the community.

Lilian Care
Program Vice President

Introduction Video


Legacy Circle

Ever since working on 5 Star Recognition for our branch last year, I have been very curious as to what was involved regarding becoming a Legacy Circle contributor. Legacy Circle has come up again in the next generation of 5 Star. My quest was to find the easiest way to set up a Legacy Circle bequest and then encourage other branch members to look into doing the same thing.  Legacy Circle funds promote equity and benefit women and girls in the future.

My first step was to check out AAUW National’s website and then contact a representative of Legacy Circle. I did not want to set up a trust, change my will, or affect any other retirement programs I already had in place. I found out all I had to do was set up a savings account at my bank naming AAUW as the Paid-on Death (POD) beneficiary.  You don’t need to open the account with thousands of dollars, a few hundred will do! Most banks want a minimum of $200.00 to open an account. Then, over time, you can add funds as you wish. Even after setting up the account, if you need to withdraw any money in the future, you can do that!  Not my intention, but good to know I have that flexibility. Once you have opened the account, you fill out a simple form called Legacy Circle Enrollment Form and forward it to AAUW National.  That form can be found on the national website.  AAUW Leave a Legacy

If anyone would like to know more, feel free to contact me.  I want to encourage other WHC members to participate in Legacy Circle now and in the years to come.

Rose Ennis
Past President, WHC

Member News Notification

Please send Becky French (bfrench1@flash.net), Corresponding Secretary, any news about our members they give you permission to share.

This year we are sending digital birthday cards to all members for whom we have dates, so if you’ve had a birthday since mid-July, please check your email inbox for a card. We hope you enjoy them.

 Becky French
Corresponding Secretary

To ensure that you do not miss any communications from the Branch, please send updates or corrections to your contact information to Mary Andersen